Tags

, , , , ,

Canine Good Citizen dog tag.

Image via Wikipedia

For what it’s worth Logan passed the Canine Good Citizen class.  We ended up having 6 dogs in the class, 4 passed and the 2 “pet” dogs didn’t. 

I have to say that although they didn’t pass, the improvement in their dogs was incredible.  I think they improved much more than the rest of us.  I was there with Logan to hone his obedience skills in a distraction filled environment, but they were there just leaning these exercises.    I know at least one of the owners was going to take the class again – so maybe we have another “dog person” joining our midst.

The reason I don’t care about this title is because for me it’s a level of training so far below what my dog is capable of and what we are striving to achieve.  I DO think that all pets should be trained to this level.  It’s too bad that this can’t be made mandatory.

On a side note  – I was reading another trainer’s blog today and she was explaining the best way to teach your dog not to jump up on you in greeting.  First off let me say that I don’t believe that there is ever a one size fits all way to train.  you have to take into account the temperament of each dog.  (and owner)

This person recommended the turn your back method.  This brought back memories from Logan’s first night of puppy class.  The trainer was there with her 2 year old dog that kept jumping on her for attention.  She kept demonstrating the turn your back method, but the dog still jumped on her many more times.  This was a 2 year old dog.  Are you kidding me, My dogs learn not to jump up from the day they are brought into the house.  If he were to jump up now at age 10 months you better believe he would get a correction.  I’m sure telling the kids in the neighborhood to turn their backs if my 80 lb. puppy jumped on them would work.  Give me a break.